Monday, March 26, 2007

Roster finalized; team to carry 13 pitchers

Instead of carrying five outfielders, the Cubs have decided to carry 13 pitchers.

Pitchers Saul Rivera (0-0, 1 save, 0.93 ERA in 9.2 innings) and Matt Thornton (0-1, 1 save, 5.79 ERA in 9.1 innings) will break camp with the team.

Pitchers Zach Duke, Aaron Heilman, and Scott Proctor; infielders Ryan Garko and Pablo Ozuna; and outfielder Delwyn Young were sent to Iowa (AAA). Infielder Martin Prado was sent to Tennessee (AA).

Pitcher Javier Lopez was placed on the 15-day disabled list.

The Cubs look to put the preseason behind them, where they posted a 10-14 record including a seven-game losing streak to end the Cactus League season.


Starting Pitchers (5)
Mark Buehrle
Tim Redding
Chris Sampson
Johan Santana
Brad Thompson

Relief Pitchers (8)
Brian Fuentes
Damaso Marte
Joe Nathan
Jonathan Papelbon
J J Putz
Saul Rivera
Eddy Rodriguez
Matt Thornton

Catchers (2)
Gerald Laird
Yorvit Torrealba

Infielders (6)
Chris Barnwell
Hank Blalock
Chris Burke
Justin Leone
Chris Shelton
Chase Utley

Outfielders (4)
Carl Crawford
Brad Hawpe
Luke Scott
William Veneable

No comments:

Post a Comment